Grace

So there was this restaurant with tremendous ratings. As I started reading the reviews there were a few that were very scathing and what was even more appalling was the owners response to the criticism. I was appalled. After all, he is a professional. It was so disappointing and immature. I heard from residents too that he was just a nasty mean man. I thought, I could not eat here. How could i eat here when this man had been so nasty to people?

As the week proceeded, I had exhausted most of the restaurants in the area, except this one restaurant. I had this nagging feeling that I should at least talk to this man and at least bring to his attention his behavior.  On the first day I went there for dinner, I was greeted by a very pleasant man who by his body language was the owner; also he was cooking. The patrons were very friendly and we very quickly engaged in conversation. It was a very pleasant experience. It was in fact the best eating experience I had in the town. The next day I called and he knew immediately it was me on the phone. I went for dinner and he offered me some sparkling cider on the house while I watched him cook my meal. As I went very early, there were no other patrons in the restaurant and so I took the opportunity to ask him about his responses. He went on in a rant about how “they” were wrong and how he used to be nice in the past but now he just let them have it. I insisted that he was wrong to be so rude and he has to remember he has a business and he is expected to rise above that kind of behavior.  I explained to him that I was not going to come to restaurant based on his response and that I found it was rude and just unprofessional.  Now mind you, I delivered this message with my brand of humor and gentleness.  He admitted that I was 100% correct but he still was not going to change. I shook my head and told him, you have to not “stoop to their level. Just be humble, accept the criticism and remember that people are affected by your response.” After it was all said and done, he asked me if I was going to come back the next day for dinner.  His employee high fived me when the owner was out of sight and thanked me for saying something. He said it was needed.

It goes to show that you have to be so careful in judging people, while I disagree with him, I had the opportunity to at least have a dialogue with him about his behavior and just maybe it will resonate with him for some time and just maybe he will change. God’s grace is extended to him to change.

Leave a Reply

